Our Executive Management Group

Our Executive Management Group (EMG) is made up of four executives who oversee the strategic direction and management of over $25 billion in funds as at 31 August 2017.

The EMG is led by our Chief Executive Officer. It is the EMG's responsibility, with the help of our Board Secretary, to:

  • Lead our day-to-day management
  • Provide insights and advice to the Board

EMG members undertake continuous education, ensuring that they maintain the educational and technical skills needed to effectively carry out their roles in a knowledgeable and prudent manner.

Our Executive Management Group members

Karen Horne - Acting CEO and General Manager, Superannuation ServicesKaren Horne - General Manager, Superannuation Services

Karen was appointed as Acting Chief Executive Officer (CEO) on 30 July 2017. 

Karen is taking on the responsibilities of CEO while still providing overall leadership for the delivery of strategic and operational member engagement, legal risk and compliance, business development and business analysis services to GESB. In addition, she holds executive responsibility for overseeing the service delivery of our administration services provider.

Karen was previously Head of Business Development for GESB, and prior to this, held senior management roles with a number of organisations in both the super and financial services sectors.

Karen is a member of the WA State Executive of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA). She has a Masters of Future Studies, a Diploma of Financial Services, a Diploma of Insurance, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors course. She joined us in 2006.

Ben Palmer - General Manager, InvestmentsBen Palmer - Acting CEO and General Manager, Investments

Ben is responsible for our investment portfolio. He leads the formulation of investment objectives and investment strategy for the defined contribution and defined benefit schemes and contributes to strategic planning initiatives. Ben was also our Acting CEO from 30 January 2017 for a period of six months.

Ben has over 14 years' investment experience across a range of asset classes, including nine years with Schroder in London, recently as Head of Portfolio Construction and Manager Selection for the group's UK private wealth business and previously as asset allocation strategist specialising in the not-for-profit sector.

Ben is a Certified Investment Management Analyst and holds a Bachelor of Economics and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment. He joined us in December 2012.

Mark Caldwell - General Manager, Finance and Business ServicesMark Caldwell - General Manager, Finance and Business Services

Mark is responsible for the services of our Finance, Human Resources, Information Technology, Procurement, and Investment Operations teams.

He has a BA (Hons) Degree in International Business and German. He qualified as a Chartered Management Accountant (CIMA) in the UK, and is a Certified Practicing Accountant. Mark also completed a post graduate diploma in Corporate Governance, through the Governance Institute of Australia and is a Chartered Company Secretary.

Mark has held a number of senior finance positions both in the UK and Australia, and has been employed in his current role since November 2014.

Mark also sits on the WA Government CIO Advisory Committee, within the office of the Government Chief Information Officer.

Chelsea Chua - Board SecretaryChelsea Chua - Board Secretary

Chelsea is the Board Secretary for our Board and our Manager - Legal, Risk and Compliance. She has been working in the legal and governance profession for the past 15 years.

She has extensive experience in various legal positions, including large financial services institutions and top tier law firms. She is the Chair of ASFA's Risk & Compliance Discussion Group in Western Australia.

Chelsea has a Bachelor of Laws degree from the University of Western Australia and has an Advanced Diploma of Financial Services (Superannuation) from ASFA.

Chelsea joined us in 2005.

Page last updated 01 November 2017